RSS Feed

Related Articles

Related Categories

The main contenders for the T20 World Cup 2021

12th January 2021 Print

Having ticked over into 2021, the excitement is growing ahead of this year’s T20 World Cup in India. Here is a look at which nations will fancy their chances of going all the way in the highly-anticipated event.

Can India make home advantage count?

It would be impossible not to plead the case of tournament hosts India, who will be backed by their cricket-obsessed supporters at the competition over October and November. India could not make the most of home advantage at the last T20 World Cup in 2016, which saw the winners West Indies beat England in the final.

Hosts India, who have not won the competition since the inaugural tournament back in 2007, are still the favourites going into the event this year, at 5/2 with bet365 in the cricket betting to lift the trophy. With so many of their star players thriving in the Indian Premier League, it’s easy to see why the hosts will have so many backers this year. There are few better batsmen than stars Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma, so expect India to be there at the business end of the competition.

England looking for redemption

After a heartbreaking defeat to West Indies in the last final in 2016, England will be desperate to go that one step further and win the T20 World Cup this year. Skipper Eoin Morgan has been leading a formidable side in white-ball cricket for the Three Lions, with England winning the last ODI World Cup in 2019.

England boast some big-hitters of their own, with the likes of Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler having the ability to take the game away from any opposition. The Three Lions will be hoping fast bowlers Jofra Archer and Chris Jordan can rise to the big occasion to cause teams problems with the ball. As one of the top-ranked teams in the world, there will be high expectations on the Three Lions for the tournament, and this side have already shown they can cope with the pressure.

Australia determined to end title wait

Considering the pedigree of the players and their status in the game, it’s remarkable Australia have not been able to get their hands on the T20 World Cup in the six tournaments so far.

Finishing as runners-up to England in 2010 is the best the Aussies have managed in this shortest form of the game, but they look set to be serious challengers this time around. Having welcomed the likes of Steve Smith and David Warner back into the fold, Australia have a wealth of experience going into the event.

In the bowling department, Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins have plenty of games under their belts and look to be in good form as the World Cup approaches. They may have not won it before, but Australia should certainly not be written off for what is set to be a thrilling event, in the most explosive format cricket has to offer.